The Duxbury Rural & Historical Society

About Us

You Never Know What Duxbury’s History is Going to Do Next…

The Duxbury Rural and Historical Society is a non-profit organization seeking to foster a better understanding of the heritage and rural environment of Duxbury, Massachusetts. The Society’s goals are to provide access to its buildings and lands, to provide educational programs for the community, to collect, preserve and exhibit artifacts relating to Duxbury’s history, to provide a library and archives for the encouragement of scholarly research and to publish documents of historical interest. 

The DRHS does this by maintaining 4 historic house properties, an archival library, museum collections, and more than 150 acres of land held in conservation. Two of the properties – the Nathaniel Winsor Jr. House and the Drew Archival Library – are open to the public year-round; the rest are easily accessible during their seasonal hours, or by appointment. The DRHS also runs approximately 70 programs, events and rentals each year, in an effort to make Duxbury’s history available to the widest possible audience.


Contact Information:

Executive Director: Erin McGough,

Office Manager: Carly Olson,

Outreach Manager: Alisha Kelly,

Archivist & Historian: Carolyn Ravenscroft,

Museum Collections Manager: Melanie Correia,

Functions & Rentals Information: Carly Olson,

Volunteer Chair: Deb Casagrande,

Visitor Services Coordinator (seasonal): Peter Donohoe


Board of Trustees 2017:

Christopher Sherman, President (

John P. Bear, Treasurer

Sally Redmond, Clerk

Amy Annis

Scott Casagrande

Sarah Evans

William McArdle

Joseph Messina

Ashley Mohrman

Jayne Talmage O’Farrell (interim board position, through February 2018)

Chelsie Olney




Designed & Developed by Niki Brown