0
No products in the cart.

Barons of the Sea: Author Talk, Steven Ujifusa

Save event to calendar

When the United States was young, fortunes were made and lost importing luxury goods such as tea, silk, and porcelain from China. It was a secretive, glamorous, ugly business built off the profits of the opium trade. But the journey back home to New York from Canton could take six agonizing months – thus beginning the greatest technological battle of the age.

Barons of the Sea is a riveting tale of innovation and ingenuity that draws back the curtain on the making of some of the nation’s greatest fortunes, and the rise and fall of an all-American industry as sordid as it was genteel. 

This is an epic tale of Americana that your history class skipped.

Tickets now available for author talk with Steven Ujifusa on his book Barons of the Sea, And their Race to Build the World’s Fastest Clipper Ship. Please join Mr. Ujifusa and the Duxbury Rural & Historical Society via Zoom on Thursday, August 20 at 6:30 pm. Open to the general public; free admission thanks to a generous donation by a private donor!

Tickets are available to the public and are free of charge, but do require pre-registration. Pre-register at: https://duxburyhistory.org/events/barons-of-the-sea-author-talk-with-steven-ujifusa/ or call 781-934-6106 to do so over the phone. Pre-registration is required to receive meeting link. Meeting link will be emailed to email address used to pre-register, 2 days before the event.

Great news! This presentation is being offered to the public free of charge because of a generous donation by a donor; in that spirit, please consider making a generous donation of your own to help support the Duxbury Rural & Historical Society’s ongoing work and needs: Make a Donation.

When the United States was young, fortunes were made and lost importing luxury goods such as tea, silk, and porcelain from China. It was a secretive, glamorous, ugly business built off the profits of the opium trade. But the journey back home to New York from Canton could take six agonizing months – thus beginning the greatest technological battle of the age.

BARONS OF THE SEA tells the story of a handful of cutthroat competitors who raced to build the fastest, finest, most profitable clipper ships to carry their precious cargo to American shores. Author Steven Ujifusa’s previous book, A Man and His Ship, was named one of the Top 10 Books of 2012 by the Wall Street Journal. His new book is in the tradition of David McCullough and Ron Chernow: a sweeping history of nineteenth-century American dynasties and the battle for dominance in tea and opium trading. The journey is jam-packed with decadence, scandal, intrigue, and a lot of recognizable names, including Forbes and Delano.

Elegantly written and meticulously researched, Barons of the Sea is a riveting tale of innovation and ingenuity that draws back the curtain on the making of some of the nation’s greatest fortunes, and the rise and fall of an all-American industry as sordid as it was genteel. This is an epic tale of Americana that your history class skipped.

 

Advance Praise for BARONS OF THE SEA: 

“Full of remarkable characters and incredible stories, Steven Ujifusa’s Barons of the Sea is a fascinating, fast-paced history of America’s clipper ship era. Highly recommended.”
—Nathaniel Philbrick, National Book Award-winning author of In the Heart of the Sea

“With a seemingly effortless command of the shared history of China and the United States, Ujifusa takes the reader on a rare and intoxicating journey back in time.”
—Candice Millard, bestselling author of Hero of the Empire

“Brilliantly chronicled…. A vivid account of larger-than-life if not always attractive characters and a technological marvel that briefly captivated the Victorian world.”

—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Steven Ujifusa received his AB in history from Harvard University and a master’s degree in historic preservation from the University of Pennsylvania. His first book, A Man and His Ship, tells the story of William Francis Gibbs, the naval architect who created the ocean liner SS United StatesThe Wall Street Journal named it one of the best nonfiction titles of 2012. Steven has given presentations across the country and on the high seas, and has appeared as guest on CBS Sunday Morning and NPR. A recipient of a MacDowell Colony fellowship and the Athenaeum of Philadelphia’s Literary Award, he lives with his wife, a pediatric emergency room physician, in Philadelphia.

Website: www.StevenUjifusa.com

 

BARONS OF THE SEA And their Race to Build the World’s Fastest Clipper Ship

By Steven Ujifusa

July 17, 2018 | $29.99 |Hardcover

ISBN: 9781476745978 | E-Book ISBN: 9781476745992

Location

via Zoom link

Date & Time

August 20, 2020 - August 20, 2020 06:30 PM - 07:30 PM

When the United States was young, fortunes were made and lost importing luxury goods such as tea, silk, and porcelain from China. It was a secretive, glamorous, ugly business built off the profits of the opium trade. But the journey back home to New York from Canton could take six agonizing months – thus beginning...