Camp Twin Oaks Photograph Collection
Duxbury Rural & Historical Society Collection, Drew Archival Library, Gift of Delores Nevils, DAL.MSS.013
See more images from the Camp Twin Oaks Photograph Collection at Our Flickr Account.
Established in the early 20th century, Camp Twin Oaks was one of many ventures created in Duxbury to take advantage of the rural beauty of the natural surroundings and the historic legacy of the town. Camp Twin Oaks was a residential camp operating on the Duxbury/Kingston, MA town line from 1934-1974. The Camp was established in 1933 by three Black sisters, Ella Lewis Woodbury (1887-1975), Lillian Mae Lewis Hayes (b. 1896) and Beulah Lewis Fogg (b. 1898), and their husbands, John Woodbury, Coley Hayes and Zollie Fogg.
The camp was initially conceived as a residential camp for Boston’s Black youth, offering fresh air and summer activities away from the city. By 1937 it had expanded to become a vacation destination for both children and adults in the Black community, attracting visitors from around the eastern United States. Beyond the amenities of the Camp’s grounds, guests would enjoy horseback riding, bathing at local beaches and visiting historic sites. Many prominent members of the Black community visited Twin Oaks, including doctors and nurses from Harlem Hospital; civil rights leader A. Phillip Randolph; Dr. York Baily; Mr. and Mrs. J. P. King of the Penn School and singer Helen Holiday among others.
Today the legacy started almost 90 years ago by the Lewis sisters at Camp Twin Oaks continues on at a different location in Duxbury: a similar organization called Camp Wing offers a healthy space for city youth to enjoy nature and the camp experience. Learn more: Crossroads/Camp Wing.
Return to Exhibition Main Page.